Home Search Calendar Help Login Register
Did you miss your activation email?
MurraysWorld Discussions  >  General Community  >  Tennis Talk  >  British Tennis  >  The current state of British tennis 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 23 Go Down Reply
Author

The current state of British tennis

(Read 10648 times)
George183
Challenger Level

"ELIZABETH GWEN 27.4.70" in Chit-Chat.

The current state of British tennis « Reply #15 on: March 09, 2010, 05:01 PM »

I’m by no means an expert on the subject of coaching but I had a really weird experience as a teacher when I visited a family in Oklahoma City for a month to help out with Home-School to find that when I bought the three boys 8yrs 10 yrs and 12 yrs a tennis racquet and balls and put them up against a practice wall at the local FREE tennis centre with six courts, of which there are MANY, to start hitting balls, the 10 yr old who was noted for being an athlete was, after only five minutes, hitting the ball back against the wall hard and fast non-stop, some 50 times without missing a stroke.

I couldn’t believe it. He seemed almost better than me! My impression was that he must be a natural, but his father wasn’t interested because he was already committed to baseball, but I couldn’t help thinking that it would be a good idea for a coach to visit every Junior school in this country to carry out the same experiment.

What do you think?
IP Logged
Grabcopy
Veteran

I know I'm paranoid. But am I paranoid enough?

The current state of British tennis « Reply #16 on: March 09, 2010, 06:54 PM »

Yes, very - and it's this lack of British motivation which really bugs Murray.