Home Search Calendar Help Login Register
Did you miss your activation email?
Andy Murray vs Matthias Bachinger, Today, 12:00 Midnight BST - Discuss the match
MurraysWorld Discussions  >  General Community  >  Underground  >  Feedback/Support  >  Chat mod for the forums (please try) 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Reply
Author

Chat mod for the forums (please try)

 (Read 2341 times)
Mark
Murraymaniac
*
Posts: 53,033

Gender: Male
Location: London


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « on: September 09, 2005, 01:32 AM »
Reply

Hi all,

I've just installed a PJIRC chat mod for the forums, please try it out and tell me if it runs ok or causes problems like your PC to freeze in anyway - thanks!

http://murraysworld.com/forums/chat.php
IP Logged
heavenlyangel
Challenger Level
**
Posts: 1,041

Gender: Female
Location: Portsmouth


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #1 on: September 09, 2005, 08:21 AM »
Reply

I just tried it and couldn't see where we type our messages in.
All i got was when i clicked link was sign in box ( which i did ) and smilies loaded and nowhere to enter messages  Rolling Eyes unless i did it wrong lol
IP Logged
Mark
Murraymaniac
*
Posts: 53,033

Gender: Male
Location: London


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #2 on: September 09, 2005, 12:05 PM »
Reply

Probably means you don't have Java on your PC, most people do, you can download it here:  http://www.java.com/en/download/index.jsp
IP Logged
heavenlyangel
Challenger Level
**
Posts: 1,041

Gender: Female
Location: Portsmouth


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #3 on: September 09, 2005, 12:07 PM »
Reply

I have that Java on pc

The one i dont have is JVM which Microsoft stopped using
IP Logged
Mark
Murraymaniac
*
Posts: 53,033

Gender: Male
Location: London


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #4 on: September 09, 2005, 01:13 PM »
Reply

I'm sorry, I don't know much about java applets but I thought as long as you have the java software I posted above then the chat mod should run ok.
IP Logged
heavenlyangel
Challenger Level
**
Posts: 1,041

Gender: Female
Location: Portsmouth


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #5 on: September 09, 2005, 02:23 PM »
Reply

I didn't know much about Java till recently when i was informed by Yahoo
Quote
*Note to Windows XP users*

By default, the Windows XP operating system comes with the Internet
Explorer 6 browser without the Java Virtual Machine (JVM) installed,
which is required to run Java programs such as Yahoo! Games.   However,
if you install Windows XP over an existing installation of Windows that
already has Internet Explorer with a JVM installed, then you should be
ok.  

Microsoft does not currently provide a download of the JVM.  You are
welcome to contact them for information on where to find and download
this program.


Then when doing a bit of searching i came across this
The Microsoft Java Virtual Machine is no longer available from Microsoft directly due to legal wrangling with SUN, however it still can be downloaded


This was from : http://java-virtual-machine.net/download.html
IP Logged
Mark
Murraymaniac
*
Posts: 53,033

Gender: Male
Location: London


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #6 on: September 09, 2005, 03:08 PM »
Reply

So have you downloaded it and tried using the chatmod?
IP Logged
hulahoop
Seed
****
Posts: 4,468

Gender: Female
Location: Beside the sea


Home is where the heart is!

Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #7 on: September 09, 2005, 06:20 PM »
Reply

Very Happy  Fine on my 'pute.
IP Logged
David
Satellite Level
**
Posts: 364

Location: Torquay UK


Hi Mark « Reply #8 on: September 09, 2005, 06:33 PM »
Reply

Works ok with me, but there was only a robot in there!!

I think once Andy gets into the top 50 and is more well known, it will be busy, as the message board will be. That's something to look forward to.
IP Logged
heavenlyangel
Challenger Level
**
Posts: 1,041

Gender: Female
Location: Portsmouth


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #9 on: September 09, 2005, 06:37 PM »
Reply

Quote from: "Mark"
So have you downloaded it and tried using the chatmod?


Yes and still got blue screen with smilies and a thing that says play now
IP Logged
Josh
Seed
****
Posts: 3,497


.....

Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #10 on: September 09, 2005, 07:09 PM »
Reply

Worked for me
IP Logged
heavenlyangel
Challenger Level
**
Posts: 1,041

Gender: Female
Location: Portsmouth


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #11 on: September 09, 2005, 07:12 PM »
Reply

seems it wont work for me then and i have done everything i can think of
only got this new oc about 4 months ago and it has java installed, went to java page and it did a check and said have latest java installed. have checked all java settings and they are all enabled so i have no idea why it wont work for me
IP Logged
heavenlyangel
Challenger Level
**
Posts: 1,041

Gender: Female
Location: Portsmouth


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #12 on: September 09, 2005, 07:31 PM »
Reply

WOOHOOO i have fixed my problem and chat works now
IP Logged
Mark
Murraymaniac
*
Posts: 53,033

Gender: Male
Location: London


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #13 on: September 09, 2005, 08:21 PM »
Reply

Great news Mandy, can you tell me how you fixed it?

And David, I think it will be really good to have a chat room for us to talk in whilst Murray is in a match. I wouldn't expect it to have people in it right now, I haven't even put it on the main page yet because I want you guys to test it out first.

Thank you for your feedback everyone.
IP Logged
heavenlyangel
Challenger Level
**
Posts: 1,041

Gender: Female
Location: Portsmouth


Chat mod for the forums (please try) « Reply #14 on: September 09, 2005, 08:26 PM »
Reply

Well i went into add/remove programmes and unistalled 2 java updates ( whilst having the java download web page up )  then all of a sudden it started to install then it said please verify which i clicked then i was informed it was successfully installed,

Was in middle of unistalling it all and was going to re install but its all fine now  Smile
IP Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Reply 
« previous next »